top of page
Search

The Battle Between Being a Student and an Author



After publishing both of my books during my last year of high school, Weapons of an Empress and Redemption Along Our Daunting Paths, I had already established myself as a self-published young author. However, after attending university, it became harder to balance my academic, social, and career as an author without neglecting one of these areas entirely. To offer you some insight into my life, I am studying Political Science and Public Administration at the University of Ottawa, several hours away from home. Now, as some of you may have guessed, I live on campus, meaning I have the responsibility of taking care of myself. Thus, considering all these responsibilities, you may be curious about what it is like being a full-time student and a part-time author.


An Avenue to Gain Inspiration

One of the best things I am grateful for regarding my time spent at university so far (aside from learning about subjects related to my program) is the various experiences I've had so far. Through the relationships formed during my transition to university, including a better understanding of what it is like to live by oneself, I can say it has shaped the ideas I have for my next book. For example, one of my friendships inspired one of the relationships between the supporting characters in the current book I am writing, not to mention an excellent base for the storyline of another book. I can also say that my university life has made me a better person, as I have become more independent. Subsequently, as I enjoy writing about protagonists who can act as role models to my younger readers, I can incorporate the various elements of my development to make a more believable character.


You can Incorporate Emotions Better

For those of you who don't know me very well, my stories include various events, relationship dynamics, and sentiments which help me build my characters and the overall plot. Thus, with the complete 180-degree spin my life took when I started pursuing my education in Ottawa, you can imagine how many emotions I felt while I tried to adjust to everything. However, writing has always been my way of expressing my feelings when I am alone. Whether it be frustration, joy or anxiety, I found it a great way to integrate it into my characters' personalities. So when they express those emotions, I could do the same without worrying about filtering it according to what my peers want to hear. Additionally, if you intend to write about stories with their setting taking place in post-secondary, using the emotions you have dealt with can make the story more realistic.


Harder to Find Time to Write And Promote Your Work

Although I would think I am lucky to have a light first semester during my freshman year at university, I can tell you that it can be hard to allot time from your schedule to write. I did not have much of a social life in high school, so post-secondary was my opportunity to make friends I hoped would last after graduation, especially since I plan to live in Ottawa for quite some time. I also started working a part-time job, making my education, chores and job a greater priority than my writing. Nevertheless, I do my best to finish my work, so I have more time to dedicate my energy to my hobbies. But when I do start writing, I can't stop myself from feeling guilty and irresponsible because I am not using that time to study and get ahead. To add on, I use my free time to promote my published books, as it is only logical to bring more attention to the novels currently on the market, instead of writing stories that barely anyone will know are available to read. And since my methods of promoting are quicker and involve less thinking, I spend more time doing that, which I can tell you is not as fun as writing the next chapter for my unfinished manuscript. Ultimately, it's always a battle of priorities that will eventually subside once I get the grip of my university life.


Great Way to Promote and Learn About Your Audience

I am lucky to study alongside those who are in my age range. As most people are my age, it is easier to learn what they enjoy reading and their preferences to integrate them into my work. It is also a great way to share the work I have already completed for them to read, as I wrote it for their age group. Likewise, while I am getting to know more people, sometimes during our conversations, they may learn about my career as an author, which may lead them to support me in my endeavours. As most students spend their money on their education, they may not have the funds to buy my book. Instead, they may follow my author's Instagram account, @author_alexia, and liking my posts to increase my work's visibility for potential readers. To add on, as I mentioned before, since I published my book in high school, some of my close friends bought copies of my book before we went our separate ways. One of these friends told me she got her friend to read my book, and she is obsessed with it. Now, although I know she is borrowing the book from my friend, there is still a chance she could suggest the book for her friends to read and leave a review for it, making it free marketing for me.


Conclusion

Ultimately, being an author and a student has its pros and cons, often being a gold mine for ideas that may take a while to weld into a story. Either way, it is a great experience that I know will continue to pay off in the future. Henceforth, for those of you who are considering becoming an author during their years in university, I highly encourage it but make sure you do not lose sight of the critical responsibilities of this time.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page